Campbell tied for 3rd after 36 holes of Edwin Watts Kiawah Island Classic

Maria Jose Benavides
(photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Maria Jose Benavides (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. – Campbell moved up into a 3rd place tie on the team leader board while Kaylin Yost and Teresa Urquizu rank among the top 20 individuals following Monday's second round of the Edwin Watts Kiawah Island Classic.

Augusta State (286-296—582) leads the 33-school event that is played over two par-72 courses – Cougar Point (6001 yards) and Oak Point (5901) – heading into Tuesday's final 18 holes.

Live scoring is available on-line at

Elon (303-296—599) stands second, five strokes ahead of Campbell (306-298—604) and UNC Greensboro (307-297—604).  Old Dominion and Daytona State are tied for fifth place at 610 strokes.

After producing a 306 in Sunday's first round at Cougar Point, the Camels shot 10-over-par 298 Monday at Oak Point.  All five players in the Camel lineup scored within two strokes of each other as two sophomores led the way with two-over 74s.

Yost, a sophomore from Pembroke Pines, Fla., recorded a pair of birdies in her second round and stands in a tie for 18th place with junior Teresa Urquizu at six-over 150.  Yost followed an opening round 76 with Tuesday's 74.

A native of San Sebastian, Spain, Urquizu shot 75 for the second-straight day in a round that included 15 pars.

Sophomore Maria Jose Benavides from Lerma, Mexico recorded her low round of the year (74).  She played her final 16 holes at one-under-par and is tied for 29th place at 8-over 152 (78-74).

Michelle Koh, a senior from Kuantan, Malaysia, is tied with freshman Lisbeth Brooks for 34th place at plus-nine 153.  Koh followed Sunday's 78 with a 75 on Monday.  A product of Waunakee, Wisc., Brooks shot 76 on Tuesday after an opening-round 77.

Two CU golfers are participating as individuals.  Freshman Brooke Bellomy is tied for 146th (87-78—165) in the 179-player field.  Sophomore Alexandra Prazak is tied for 151st (85-81—166).

Fanny Cnops of UNC Greensboro (72-71—143) and Erin Selfridge of Daytona State (73-70—143) are tied for the individual lead.  Christine Duschek-Hansen of Augusta State (72-72—144) and Kristen Hill of Arkron (72-72—144) head into the final round one stroke off the pace.

The top 19 teams in the standings will play Tuesday's final round at Cougar Point, while the remaining 14 will compete at Oak Point.  Play commences with an 8:45 a.m. shotgun start. 

Edwin Watts Kiawah Island Classic\
Feb. 26-28, 2012 / Kiawah Island, S.C.
(CP) Cougar Point GC / Par 72, 6001 Yards
(OP) Oak Point GC / Par 72, 5901 Yards

Second Round Team Leaders: 1. Augusta State 286-296—582 (OP), 2. Elon 303-296—599 (OP), T3. Campbell 306-298—604 (OP), T3. UNC Greensboro 307-297—604 (OP), T5. Old Dominion 315-295—610 (CP), T5. Daytona State 314-296—610 (CP), 7. Chattanooga 309-302—611 (OP), 8. Jacksonville State 3077-305—612 (OP), 9. Akron 314-302—616 (OP), 10. Middle Tennessee 313-304—617 (OP), 11. College of Charleston 313-305—618 (CP), 12. Bucknell 322-297—619 (CP), T13. Western Carolina 317-304—621 (OP), T13. Arkansas-Little Rock 309-312—621 (OP), T13. St. John's 322-299—621 (CP), 16. Longwood 310-313—623 (OP), T17. Georgetown 324-301—625 (CP), T17. Mercer 315-310—625 (OP), T19. Oral Roberts 318-308—626 (OP), T19. Newberry 317-307—626 (CP), 21. Charleston Southern 322-305—627 (CP), T22. William & Mary 331-297—628 (CP), T22. Presbyterian 325-303—628 (CP), T22. Marshall 325-303—628 (CP), 25. Richmond 317-313—630 (CP), T26. High Point 331-300—631 (CP), T26. Illinois State 326-305—631 (OP), T26. Arkansas State 310-321—631 (OP), 29. Winthrop 329-304—633 (CP), T30. Morehead State 315-320—635 (OP), T30. Radford 327-308—635 (CP), 32. IUPUI 336-311—647 (CP), 33. The Citadel 346-342—688 (CP).

Second Round Individual Leaders: T1. Fanny Cnops (UNCG) 72-71—143, T1. Erin Selfridge (Daytona State) 73-70—143, T3. Christine Duschek-Hansen (Augusta State) 72-72—144, T3. Kristen Hill (Akron) 72-72—144, T5. Casey Kennedy (Augusta State) 70-75—145, T5. Alheli Moreno (Oral Roberts) 72-73—145.

Campbell Individuals: T18. Kaylin Yost 76-74—150, T18. Teresa Urquizu 75-75—150, T29. Maria Jose Benavides 78-74—152, T34. Michelle Koh 78-75—153, T34. Lisbeth Brooks 77-76—153, *T146. Brooke Bellomy 87-78—165, *T151. Alexandra Prazak 85-81—166.
* playing as individual, does not count in team score.