Camel trio earns A-Sun post-season women's golf honors

Camel trio earns A-Sun post-season women's golf honors

BUIES CREEK, N.C. - Coming off a runner-up finish in the Atlantic Sun Conference Championship, three Campbell University standouts have earned post-season league women's golf honors. Sarah Bejgrowicz and Michelle Koh were selected to the all-conference second team, while Kaylin Yost was named to the A-Sun all-freshman team.

"Sarah, Michelle and Kaylin played every round for us this year and at the end of the year, Michelle happened to be one shot better than Sarah," said Campbell head coach John Crooks. "All three are worthy of these honors and are excellent ambassadors of the University."

A senior from Lancaster, Pa., Bejgrowicz produced five top-10 finishes during 2010-11, including her second career victory Feb. 20-22 at the Kiawah Island Classic. She tied with Koh for third place at the Atlantic Sun Championship and gained all-tournament honors. The senior finished the season with a 75.9 stroke average (2278 strokes in 30 rounds) and was ranked number-227 nationally by

Bejgrowicz finished in a tie for 13th place in the A-Sun tournament as a freshman; then tied for eighth in both the 2009 and 2010 events. She also was named to the all-conference second team in 2010.

Over her four-year career, Bejgrowicz produced 18 top-20 showings, including 13 top-10s. She also won the 2009 Jacksonville Women's Invitational and was named to the A-Sun all-academic team in each of her first three years.

Twice she shot a collegiate career-low round of four-under-par 68 - at the 2010 UNLV Spring Invitational and later that year at the A-Sun Championship. Her even-par 216 (69-71-76) at this year's Kiawah Island Classic is tied for the 8th-lowest 54-hole score in CU women's golf history.

Koh produced her best collegiate finish in this year's A-Sun Championship with a third-place tie. The junior from Kuantan, Malaysia notched four top-20 showings, including a tie for fourth at the Palmetto Intercollegiate. She was ranked number-233 in the country by with a 75.9 stroke average (2277 strokes over 30 rounds).

On Oct. 25, 2010, Koh set school 18- (66) and 36-hole (139) records when she fired a five-under-par 66 in the second round on the par-71 layout. Through three varsity seasons, the 2009 A-Sun all-freshman team member has 13 career top-20 finishes.

Yost played in each of Campbell's 10 events during the campaign and compiled a 77.9 stroke average (2339 strokes over 30 rounds), fourth-best on the team. She saved her best performance of the year for the A-Sun Championship, where she tied for seventh place (77-76-73-226), where she was deadlocked with Hayley Clinning of Kennesaw State, East Tennessee State's Larissa Steinfeldt and Mallory Viera of Stetson as low freshman in the event.

The Pembroke Pines, Fla., native shot a season-low round of one-under-par 71 at the Eagle Landing Invitational on Mar. 13. She had top-25 individual finishes at the Kiawah Island Classic (T21) and Eagle Landing (T23).

"Next year's team going to be extremely young, so it's nice to have leadership and direction coming back," said Crooks. "We feel like Michelle and Kaylin will help provide that guidance."

Campbell ended its 17-year run in the Atlantic Sun Conference by placing among the top two schools in the league championship 15 times, including a record eight team titles. CU will re-join the Big South Conference (of which it was a charter member from 1983-94) on July 1, 2011.

Stetson sophomore Alexandria Buelow repeated as Atlantic Sun player of the year, while Stetson's Floyd Kerr was tabbed coach of the year for the third-straight season.

ETSU's Nina Muehl, Kennesaw State's Ket Preamcheun and Briana Carlson of Florida Gulf Coast joined Buelow as unanimous selections to the All-Atlantic Sun First Team. Sian Evans of ETSU was named A-Sun freshman of the year while also earning first-team all-league and all-freshman team honors.

Evans Clinning, Viera and Mercer's Mary Alice Murphy joined Yost on the all-freshman unit. Koh and Bejgrowicz were accompanied on the all-conference second team by Clinning and Viera, plus Lauren Cate of Stetson.

Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Golf

2011 Post-Season Honors

All-Conference First Team
*Alex Buelow (Stetson)
*Nina Muehl (ETSU)
*Ket Preamchuen (Kennesaw State)
*Briana Carlson (Florida Gulf Coast)
Sian Evans (ETSU)

All-Conference Second Team
Michelle Koh (Campbell)
Sarah Bejgrowicz (Campbell)
Lauren Cate (Stetson)
Hayley Clinning (Kennesaw State)
Mallory Viera (Stetson)

All-Freshman Team
*Sian Evans (ETSU)
*Hayley Clinning (Kennesaw State)
*Mallory Viera (Stetson)
*Mary Alice Murphy (Mercer)
Kaylin Yost (Campbell)

*Unanimous selection

Player of the Year
Alex Buelow (Stetson)

Freshman of the Year
Sian Evans (ETSU)

Coach of the Year
Floyd Kerr (Stetson)