Guillen and Clavera win B-1 doubles flight title at Elon Fall Invitational

David Clavera
(photo by Bennett Scarborough)
David Clavera (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

ELON, N.C. – Fernando Guillen and David Clavera won the B-1 doubles flight to highlight Campbell's weekend at the Elon Fall Invitational men's tennis tournament.

Adrien Rossignon (A-1 singles) won his singles flight consolation bracket, while James Jones and Garrison Kinney paired to win the C-2 doubles consolation.

Guillen and Clavera improved to 5-0 in doubles play during the fall season.  The tandem blanked Bharani Sankar and Dan Elston from Longwood 8-0 in the opening round; then downed the team of Carlos Arboleda (Elon) and Jamie Yates (USC Upstate) 8-6 in the semis.

In the final, Guillen and Clavera downed Garik Yedigarian and Matias Di Pasquale of Coastal Carolina 8-5.  It marked the second time this fall that the Camel duo topped its Big South rival.  On Sept. 14, Guillen and Clavera knocked off Yedigarian and Di Pasquale 7-5 in the Big Teal vs. Big Orange event at Conway, S.C.

Rossignon dropped his initial singles match in the A-1 flight to eventual champion Stefan Fortmann of Elon 7-5, 6-4.  However, the 2012 Big South freshman of the year recovered in the consolation bracket and won 3-straight matches.

He split sets with Greg Vladimirsky of James Madison 7-6, 5-7 before winning a super-tiebreaker (10-8).  Rossignon then won in straights over Wake Forest's Sam Bloom 6-4, 6-3.  In the A-1 consolation final, Rossignon claimed the super-tie break again to defeat Robert Kjellberg of North Carolina Wesleyan 7-6, 2-6, (10-4).

Jones and Kinney fell to James Fudge and Steed Johnson of Longwood 8-6  in their first doubles match, but rallied for wins over Peter Hviid and Irakliy Marutian if NC Wesleyan 8-5 and UNC Asheville's Pete Conaty and Will Goldberg 8-0 to win the C-2 consolation bracket.

Elon Fall Invitational
Campbell Results
A-1 Singles
Stefan Fortmann (Elon) def. Adrien Rossignon (CAM) 7-5, 6-4
Rossignon (CAM) def. Greg Vladimirsky (James Madison) 7-6, 5-7, (10-8)
Rossignon (CAM) def. Sam Bloom (Wake Forest) 6-4, 6-3
Rossignon (CAM) def. Robert Kjellberg (NC Wesleyan) 7-6, 2-6, (10-4) (Consolation final)
Adrien Langard (UNC Asheville) def. Fernando Guillen (CAM) 6-4, 7-5
Kjellberg (NC Wesleyan) def. Guillen (CAM) 4-6, 6-1, 6-2
A-2 Singles
Brian Kowalski (Elon) def. Steven Billington (CAM) 6-4, 4-6, 6-4
Billington (CAM) def. John Schuble (UNC Asheville) 6-0, 6-4
Billington (CAM) def. Jimmy Dougherty (UNC Greensboro) 6-4, 7-6
Matt Waissen (UNC Asheville) def. Billington (CAM) 7-6, 6-2 (Consolation final)
B-1 Singles
David Clavera (CAM) def. Artsiom Prostak (NC Wesleyan) 6-4, 5-7, 6-2
Clavera (CAM) def. Zvonimir Podvinski (Old Dominion) 5-7, 6-1, 6-1
Carlos Arboleda (Elon) def. Clavera (CAM) 6-2, 6-1 (semifinal)
B-2 Singles
Rik Van Gerwen (CAM) def. Edward Becker (Longwood) 6-0, 6-1
Van Gerwen (CAM) def. Tim Schweig (Old Dominion) 7-6, 6-4
Paul Nahon (Richmond) def. Van Gerwen (CAM) 6-0, 6-1 (semifinal)
C-1 Singles
Maxi Branth (James Madison) def. Josep Baro (CAM) 6-3, 7-6
Will Welte (Richmond) def. Baro (CAM) 6-4, 6-0
Blake Gregory (East Carolina) def. James Jones (CAM) 6-2, 3-6, 6-1
Peter Hviid (NC Wesleyan) def. Jones (CAM) 4-6, 6-3, (10-7)
C-2 Singles
Ismael Sanchez (Elon) def. Ondrej Kralik (CAM) 6-4, 6-1
Garrison Kinney (CAM) def. Pete Conaty (UNC Asheville) 0-6, 6-3, 7-6
Dan Sablik (Elon) def. Kinney (CAM) 6-4, 6-3
A-1 Doubles
Roller/Vliegen (East Carolina) def. Rossignon/Baro (CAM) 8-4
Rossignon/Baro (CAM) def. Kidler/Blanco (USC Upstate) 8-3
Ochagavia/Lopez (Old Dominion) def. Rossignon/Baro (CAM) 9-8 (consolation final)
B-1 Doubles
Guillen/Clavera (CAM) def. Sankar/Elston (Longwood) 8-0
Guillen/Clavera (CAM) def. Arboleda(Elon)/Yates (USC Upstate) 8-6
Guillen/Clavera (CAM) def. Yedigarian/Di Pasquale (Coastal Carolina) 8-5 (final)
B-2 Doubles
Soon/Konnov (NC Wesleyan) def. Van Gerwen/Billington (CAM) 9-8
C-2 Doubles
Fudge/Johnson (Longwood) def. Jones/Kinney (CAM) 8-6
Jones/Kinney (CAM) def. Hviid/Marutian (NC Wesleyan) 8-5
Jones/Kinney (CAM) def. Conaty/Goldberg (UNC Asheville) 8-0 (consolation final)