Three Camels earn Big South Conference men’s golf honors

Gaston Bertinotti (left), Craig Hornberger (center), Mikko Lehtovuori (right)
Gaston Bertinotti (left), Craig Hornberger (center), Mikko Lehtovuori (right)

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – A trio of Campbell University athletes have earned post-season men's golf honors from the Big South Conference.  Gaston Bertinotti was named to the Big South All-Championship team, Craig Hornberger was named to the all-freshman team and Mikko Lehtovuori was chosen for the all-academic team.

Bertinotti, who joined the program in January, tied for runner-up honors this week at the Big South Conference championship.  The freshman from Cordoba, Argentina finished at 2-under-par 214 (70-70-74) after compiling collegiate low performances in his first two rounds. 

In six tournaments this spring, Bertinotti produced four top-15 individual finishes, including an eighth-place tie at the Seahawk Intercollegiate (72-71—143) at the Landfall Nicklaus Course.  He led the team with a 74.0 stroke average and shot 72 or better seven times in his final nine rounds of the season.  He was named Big South freshman of the week Mar. 21.

"The fact that Gaston finished second in the conference and was selected to the all-tournament team is just an amazing accomplishment for a young man who's only been in school for one semester," said Campbell head coach John Crooks.  "Based on his efforts this semester, had he played just one more round, he would have been eligible for all-conference, freshman of the year as well as the all-freshman team, but the way the scheduling worked out he was able take away this award."

Hornberger was twice named Big South freshman of the week during his first collegiate season.  The native of Lancaster, Pa., produced a 74.5 stroke average over 11 events and three top-10 finishes in his first year.  Hornberger made his collegiate debut at the Mark Simpson Colorado Invitational (Sept. 23-24, 2013) and finished in a tie for runner-up honors (73-72-70—215). 

He also tied for seventh at the Big South Preview (72) and tied for sixth at the Wexford Plantation Intercollegiate (77-74-71—222) on Hilton Head Island.  In Hornberger's first Big South Championship, he earned a top-20 finish (T18th, 73-77-74—224).  His low round of the year (69) came at the Wolfpack Intercollegiate.

"Craig has been a solid performer and one of our leaders all year long," said Crooks.  "His first event where he shot under par out in Colorado against a great field of teams out west just shows you what a talent he is.  His future is bright."

In addition to compiling a 74.7 stroke average and playing in 11 of 12 events, Lehtovuori owns a 3.88 grade-point average as a business administration major.  He earned four top-10 showings this year, including runner-up honors at the Big South Preview (69) and a sixth-place finish at the Wolfpack Intercollegiate (74-66-73), where he shot a collegiate low in the second round.

The Big South men's golfer of the week for Oct. 10, Lehtovuori also tied for fifth at the Samford Intercollegiate (75-75-72—222) and tied for eighth in the Bash at the Beach (76-69-68—213).  He tied for 18th at the Big South Championship (75-80-69—224).

"Mikko is a young man who is very quiet, works very hard, and his golf is extremely important to him, but his grades are every bit as important to him as well," said Crooks.  "It's not a surprise that he's Campbell's all-academic performer.  I'm just fortunate to have three talented young people who are going to be with us for some time and are the future of our program."

Campbell finished among the top 10 schools in 10 of its 12 events, including five top-5 showings, during the 2013-14 season.  After entering the tournament as the seventh seed, CU placed fifth in the Big South Championship.

2014 Big South Conference Postseason Honors 

All-Conference Team                                                                         
Chase Marinell, Liberty
Niklas Lindstrom, Liberty
Mathieu Fenasse, Liberty
Andrew Dorn, Coastal Carolina
Ben Wheeler, Coastal Carolina
Zach Seabolt, Winthrop
Davis Parker, Presbyterian College
Ross Thomson, Charleston Southern
Taylor Dickson, Winthrop
Tanner Carbaugh, Radford 

All-Freshman Team
Zach Seabolt, Winthrop
Craig Hornberger, Campbell
Olle Widegren, Coastal Carolina
Nick Brediger, Radford
Blake Maum, Gardner-Webb 

All-Championship Team
Ben Wheeler, Coastal Carolina
Gaston Bertinotti, Campbell
David Denlinger, Charleston Southern
Chase Marinell, Liberty
Tanner Carbaugh, Radford 

All-Academic Team
Mikko Lehtovuori, Soph., Campbell
David Denlinger, Gr., Charleston Southern
Ben Wheeler, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Matt Yelverton, Jr., Gardner-Webb
LJ Georgetti, Jr., High Point
Ian McConnell, Sr., Liberty
Kyle Bodin, Sr., Longwood
Colt Crymes, Sr., Presbyterian College
Tanner Carbaugh, Jr., Radford
Nick Eberhardt, Soph., Winthrop 

Golfer of the Year
Chase Marinell, Sr., Liberty 

Freshman of the Year
Zach Seabolt, Winthrop 

Coach of the Year
Michael Grant, Radford

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Ian McConnell, Sr., Liberty