Vaita Guillaume named honorable mention PING All-America

Vaita Guillaume
(photo by Darryl Oumi)
Vaita Guillaume (photo by Darryl Oumi)

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Vaita Guillaume of Campbell University has been named honorable mention PING All-America by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The senior from Papeete, Tahiti was one of two Big South Conference performers to gain All-America status.  Robert Karlsson of Liberty was a second-team All-America choice.

Guillaume is the first Campbell men's golfer to earn All-America honors on the Division I level.

"This is the candle on top of the cake," said Campbell head coach John Crooks.  "Vaita has had a great career and certainly this past year has been special with five wins, leading the country in par-4 scoring, being named player of the year in the conference and at the University.  Being named All-American is the next logical step.  I'm proud of Vaita.  Like I've told a lot of people, if you only meet one person associated with Campbell, Vaita is a good one to have met because he certainly represents us well."

The Big South Conference player of the year and a PING All-Southeast Region choice, Guillaume finished in a 3-way tie for top individual honors May 19 at the NCAA Greensboro Regional at 3-under par 213. He won a play-off on the first hole with Matt Schovee of SMU to earn the NCAA Championship individual berth.

Guillaume was the first Campbell player to advance to the NCAA men's golf championship since the program moved to NCAA Division I status in 1977-78. He is the lone Camel player to play in three NCAA regionals (2009 team berth, individual bids in 2011 and 2012) and one of only five to make a regional appearance.

He finished in a tie for 77th place (75-77-72—224) at the NCAA Championship medal play event held at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif.

In addition to his triumph at the Greensboro Regional, Guillaume won top individual honors this year at the Georgetown Intercollegiate, Kiawah Classic, Bash at the Beach and the Wofford Coca-Cola Invitational.

He led all Big South Conference players in stroke average and ranked 10th nationally. Guillaume stood second in the country in par-4 scoring average (3.97) and ninth in score vs. par (-0.78). He tied the school 18-hole record (64) in the second round of the Wofford Coca-Cola Invitational. He also shot 64s in the 2010 Mardi Gras Invitational and the 2011 Charleston Shootout.

Guillaume, who was named to the 2012 Big South all-conference first-team, earned all-league honors in each of his four seasons with the Camels. He was tabbed second-team all-conference in the Atlantic Sun in his first three years while also earning A-Sun all-freshman team recognition. He is one of three players in Campbell's Division I era (since 1977-78) to gain all-league honors four times, joining Duane Bock (1988-91) and Braxton Wynns (2001-04).

PING All-America Teams 

First Team
Blayne Barber, Auburn
Julien Brun, TCU
Dylan Frittelli, Texas
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
Thomas Pieters, Illinois
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford  
Jordan Spieth, Texas  
Justin Thomas, Alabama
Chris Williams, Washington
Eugene Wong, Oregon 

Second Team
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Ben Kohles, Virginia
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
J.J. Spaun, San Diego State
T.J. Vogel, Florida
Cory Whitsett, Alabama
Andrew Yun, Stanford

Third Team
Zac Blair, BYU
Alex Ching, San Diego
Max Homa, California
Robert Karlsson, Liberty
Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor
Julian Suri, Duke
Julio Vegas, Texas
James White, Georgia Tech
Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama 

Honorable Mention
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
Anton Arboleda, UCLA
Kevin Aylwin, North Florida
Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
John Catlin, New Mexico
Albin Choi, NC State
Eric Chun, Northwestern
Corey Conners, Kent State
Sean Dale, North Florida
Greg Eason, UCF
Derek Ernst, UNLV
Ricardo Gouveia, UCF
Vaita Guillaume, Campbell
Brandon Hagy, California
Jeffrey Kang, Southern California
Michael Kim, California
Will Kropp, Oklahoma
Steve Lim, Southern California
Tyler McCumber, Florida
Nate McCoy, Iowa State
Corbin Mills, Clemson
Keith Mitchell, Georgia
Cameron Peck, Texas A&M
Kevin Penner, UNLV
Matt Schovee, SMU
Max Scodro, Notre Dame
Ethan Tracy, Arkansas
Joseph Winslow, Iowa
Sang Yi, LSU