Guillaume and Gray earn Big South Conference men's golf honors

Mitch Gray
(photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Mitch Gray (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

NINETY SIX, S.C. -- On the eve of the Big South Conference men's golf championship, a pair of Campbell University student-athletes have earned post-season honors.

Senior Vaita Guillaume was named to the Big South all-conference team in voting by league head coaches.  Senior Mitch Gray earned a place on the Big South all-academic team.

The Big South men's golf player of the year, coach of the year, freshman of the year and scholar-athlete of the year awards will be announced at the conclusion of the conference championship on Wednesday.

The Big South stroke average leader (70.46), Guillaume won his fourth title of the year, the most in a season by a Campbell golfer during its Division I history, breaking tournament records in the process for 54-hole total (204) and score to par (-12) at the Coca-Cola Wofford Invitational.

Guillaume added the Coca-Cola tourney crown to three other events he has already won during the 2011-12 season -- the Georgetown Intercollegiate, Kiawah Classic and Bash at the Beach.  His victory was his 4th in his last 6 outings.

He finished (69-64-71--204) the Coca-Cola Invitational at 12-under-par, one stroke ahead of Charleston Southern's Jacobo Pastor (73-65-67--205) in the individual standings and led Campbell to a 3rd-place showing (288-283-290, 861).

Campbell has placed among the top 5 schools in each of its 9 tournaments this year with three team titles (Golfweek Program Challenge, Kiawah Classic and Bash at the Beach).

In last Monday's second round of the Coca-Cola Invitational, Guillaume tied the school and tournament 18-hole record with an 8-under 64 on the par-72, 6648-yard Country Club of Spartanburg layout. Guillaume matched the school 18-hole record of 64 first set by Simon Dunn at the 2001 UCF Rio Pinar Invitational. Guillaume also shot 64 at the 2010 Mardi Gras Invitational and 2011 Charleston Shootout.

The senior from Papeete, Tahiti notched his career-best 36-hole performance (133), a mark that stands 2nd in school history and only two strokes off the Campbell record of 131 set by Kyle Spahr at the 2006 Hartford Hawks Invitational. Guillaume's 204 tally for 54 holes is also a career-best and the fourth-lowest in Campbell's men's golf Division I era (since 1977-78).

His win also marked the 18th time he has finished among the top-10 individuals in a collegiate tournament.

Guillaume stands 43rd in the latest Golfstat Cup listing.  His average score stands 12th in the country.  Guillaume leads the nation in par-4 scoring (3.94) and in putts on greens in regulation (1.706).  He stands 10th in the country in putts per round (29.0).

Like Guillaume, Gray has participated in all 26 rounds for the Camels this year.  He has produced a pair of top-10 finishes, including a seventh-place tie at the Golfweek Program Challenge.

The senior from Florence, S.C., owns a 73.54 stroke average, 12th-lowest in the conference, while owning a 3.755 grade-point average as a business administration major.

Gray recorded his best collegiate 54-hole score (71-69-69--209) and produced his best finish of year (T7) to help CU win the Golfweek Program Challenge (Sept. 11-13, 2011) men's stroke play title.  He has been in the Camel lineup for three tournament titles in 2011-12.

As a junior, Gray was one of 138 players in NCAA Division I named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).  He earned Atlantic Sun Conference All-Academic honors in each of his first three collegiate seasons.

Guillaume and Gray, along with sophomore Amanjyot Singh and freshmen Grant Houser and Kurtis Straw, will start the 2012 Big South Championship on Monday at 10:20 a.m., paired with top-seeded Liberty and third-seeded Coastal Carolina.

The 54-hole event continues Tuesday and concludes with Wednesday's final round at The Patriot Golf Club.

Live scoring is available on-line at

2012 Big South Conference Men's Golf Award Winners
All-Conference Team                                                                         
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Vaita Guillaume, Sr., Campbell
Robert Karlsson, Sr., Liberty
Jacobo Pastor, Sr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina

All-Academic Team
Mitch Gray, Sr., Campbell

David Denlinger, Jr., Charleston Southern
Sebastian Soderberg, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Kristopher Gray, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Chase Wilson, Jr., High Point
Max McKay, Jr., Liberty
Matt Sizemore, Jr., Presbyterian
Callum Tarren, Soph., Radford
Damon Postal, Soph., Winthrop