Campbell shares Wendy’s Kiawah Classic title; Guillaume ties for individual honors

Vaita Guillaume
(photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Vaita Guillaume (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. – Vaita Guillaume won his second-straight individual title and Campbell University shared team honors after Tuesday's final round of the Wendy's Kiawah Classic at Turtle Point Golf Club.

A senior from Papeete, Tahiti, Guillaume tied with Andres Pumariega of George Washington (70-71-73) for medalist honors at 2-under-par 214.  Guillaume also claimed the individual crown Oct. 17-18 at the Georgetown Intercollegiate.

Campbell (292-292-297) and Kennesaw State (299-287-295) both finished at 881 strokes and were crowned co-champions.  The victory was Campbell's second of the fall season, following a win in Sept. at the Golfweek Program Challenge.  CU has finished among the top four teams in each of its five tournaments this year.

Jacksonville State (891) was third, followed by host Charleston Southern (900) and George Washington (911) in the 21-school event.

On Tuesday, Guillaume shot an even-par 72 in a round that included five birdies.  He had 12 birdies in the 54-hole event.  This week's showing marked Guillaume's fourth top-10 finish in five tournaments his fall.  The performance also was his 16th career top-10 showing.

Guillaume was one of only three golfers in the 105-player field to finish in red numbers.  Patrick Newcomb of Murray State was third at one-under 215 (73-68-74) on the par-72, 7061-yard Turtle Point layout.

Campbell freshman Grant Houser produced his best collegiate finish with a fifth-place tie at two-over 218 (72-73-73).  The product of Holly Springs, N.C., had three birdies in his final round Tuesday.

Sophomore Amanjyot Singh tied for 11th place at 6-over 222 (77-71-74), while senior Mitch Gray shot 75-75-78 and tied for 28th at 228.  Sophomore Harrison Ashworth tied for 90th (76-84-85—245). 

Wendy's Kiawah Classic
Turtle Point GC / Kiawah Island, S.C.
Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 2011 / Par 72, 7061 Yards 

Final Team Results: T1. Kennesaw State 299-287-295—881, T1. Campbell 292-292-297—881, 3. Jacksonville State 305-291-295—891, 4. Charleston Southern 300-289-311—900, 5. George Washington 301-301-309—911, 6. Minnesota 313-296-303—912, T7. USC Upstate 319-302-301—922, T7. Bradley 305-302-315—922, 9. Wisconsin 318-296-309—923, T10. IUPUI 310-307-307—924, T10. Presbyterian 307-306-311—924, 12. William & Mary 321-305-300—926, 13. Butler 313-301-314—928, 14. St. John's 320-302-310—932, T15. Connecticut 317-310-310—937, T15. Stetson 322-301-314—937, 17. Murray State 309-315-316—940, 18. Miami (Ohio) 312-307-322—941, 19. Creighton 320-311-312—943, 20. Towson 314-314-317—945, 21. Western Kentucky 329-317-314—960.

Final Individual Leaders: T1. Vaita Guillaume (Campbell) 69-73-72—214, T1. Andres Pumariega (George Washington) 70-71-73—214, 3. Patrick Newcomb (Murray State) 73-68-74—215, 4. Jacobo Pastor (Charleston Southern) 71-69-76—216, T5. Grant Houser (Campbell) 72-73-73—218, T5. Michael Powell (IUPUI) 73-74-71—218.

Other Campbell Individuals: T11. Amanjyot Singh 77-71-74—222, T28. Mitch Gray 75-75-78—228, T90. Harrison Ashworth 76-84-85—245.