Big South sets men's hoops divisional alignment and tournament format for 2012-13

Gore Arena
(photo by Will Bratton)
Gore Arena (photo by Will Bratton)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – With the Big South Conference's membership reaching an all-time high of 12 institutions on July 1, the league has formally announced a new scheduling format and division alignment for men's basketball beginning in 2012-13.  In addition, the conference released the tournament seeding and pairing procedures for the 2013 Big South Basketball Championships.

Beginning in 2012-13, Big South men's basketball will feature a 16-game schedule with two six-team divisions.  Games will be played on Wednesday and Saturday, which may be adjusted for institutional policies if needed. 

The yet-to-be named divisions are as follows: Division "A" – Campbell, High Point, Liberty, Longwood, Radford, VMI; Division "B" – Charleston Southern, Coastal Carolina, Gardner-Webb, Presbyterian, UNC Asheville, Winthrop.

The 16-game schedule will include two games against divisional opponents (10 total), and one crossover game against the opposing division (6 total).  Division champions will be recognized, and all 12 teams will participate in the Conference Championship. 

Seeding will be by divisions -- the top two teams with the best overall Conference won-loss percentage in each division shall receive the top four seeds in the championship and first round byes.  The remaining seeds shall be determined based on division finish.  In the event of a tie for a particular seed, the seed will be determined within each division.

The Big South Men's Basketball Championship begins with first-round games on Tues., Mar. 5 at Coastal Carolina University's new 3200-seat on-campus student recreation and convocation center.

Quarterfinal games continue on Thurs., Mar. 7 with the top two seeds from each division squaring off against first-round winners.  The semifinal round is set for Sat., Mar. 9 and the championship game on Sun., Mar. 10.