Campbell University to honor 1992 Big South Champs on Saturday

1992 Big South Conference Champions
(photo by Todd Scarborough)
1992 Big South Conference Champions (photo by Todd Scarborough)

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell University will celebrate the upcoming 20th anniversary of its 1992 Big South Conference men's basketball championship on Saturday in conjunction with its 1:00 p.m. game against High Point.

The 1992 team earned the Big South's first automatic berth into the NCAA tournament by claiming victories over Davidson, Liberty and Charleston Southern in the league tourney at Anderson, S.C.

Campbell then drew top-ranked and defending national champion Duke, which featured Christian Laettner, Grant Hill and Bobby Hurley, in the first round at the Greensboro Coliseum.  Although CU dropped that contest 82-56, Campbell and its head coach Billy Lee, was the media darling of the first round.

Among the players returning to Buies Creek on Saturday are 1992 Big South tournament MVP Mark Mocnik, 4-time all-conference performer Joe Spinks, Jared Harrison, Jerome Holley, Steve Martin and Doug Mitchell.

Coach Lee will also be back in the Creek along with assistants Gary Elmore and Joel Haskins, plus former radio play-by-play announcer Ron McLamb, administrative assistant Cathy McLamb and team manager Sam Walker.

After Campbell's 67-53 triumph over Charleston Southern on Mar. 7, 1992 provided the school with its first berth into the NCAA tournament, the athletics department was flooded with calls from all over the nation.

ESPN and ABC World News Tonight produced features on the Camels, while reporters from outlets such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe as well as every regional and local print and electronic outlet filed copy from Buies Creek.

The 1991-92 squad set or tied 20 school individual or team records during the season and finished with a 19-12 record.

Spinks earned first-team all-conference honors, while freshman guard Scott Neely was named Big South Conference Rookie of the Year.  Mocnik was joined on the all-tournament team by Spinks and center Billy Ellison.

After a 17-year stint as a member of the Atlantic Sun Conference, Campbell University re-joined the Big South on July 1, 2011. 

Saturday's celebration is the first of two milestone teams that will be recognized during the season.  The 1977 NAIA national runner-up unit will gather prior to Campbell's game vs. VMI on Jan. 21 to celebrate the 35th anniversary of its accomplishment.