Smith Nominated for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Braden Smith
Braden Smith

BUIES CREEK, N.C.-Campbell senior quarterback Braden Smith is a nominee for the 2012 Allstate Good Works Team, announced today by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

As one of college football's most prestigious off-the-field honors, the award recognizes a select group of college football players committed to making a difference in their communities. Smith is one of 117 nominees across the country.

Smith, a two-time Pioneer Football League Offensive Player of the Week last season and 2012 PFL Academic Honor Roll member, passed for several school single season records in his first season as a Camels with 1,965 yards, 14 touchdowns, 179 completions, 313 attempts and total offense at 2,254 yards.

The Rockwell, Texas native passed for over 200 yards four times in 2012, including a CU single game high 290 in Campbell's 26-20 come from behind triple overtime win at Davidson, adding two touchdowns through the air and another on the ground. Smith also rushed for three scores while passing for one in Campbell's 48-24 win over San Diego.

Since 1992, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has shown a spotlight on the countless "good works" and remarkable stories of service by student-athletes at all levels of college football competition. Award recipients represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership in the community.

Tackles or touchdowns have no bearing on this award, for it is the many examples of "volunteerism" and "giving back" that have earned these players nominations from their respective colleges and universities.

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select two 11-player Good Works Teams® – one comprised of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA. The final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September.

Allstate and the AFCA will launch the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website on featuring profiles and images of the final team members, as well as the opportunity for fans to vote for the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain.

The 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Alex Van Pelt (Pittsburgh, 1992 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Grant Irons (Notre Dame, 1999 team), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Tom O'Toole (USA Today), Andy Staples (, Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Harvard University Head Coach Tim Murphy; 1987 AFCA President LaVell Edwards, former head coach at Brigham Young University; and Kathy Mabe, President, West Regions at Allstate.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining a strong academic standing.