Monroe Named to CFPA Defensive Back Award Watch List

Steth Monroe
Steth Monroe

BUIES CREEK, N.C.-Campbell's Steth Monroe has been named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) preseason Defensive Back Award watch list, the organization announced Monday.

A rising senior from Waxhaw, N.C., Monroe earned Honorable Mention All-Pioneer Football League honors in 2011.

Monroe led the league with 15 passes defensed last season, including a PFL-best 11 pass breakups while ranking second with four interceptions. Monroe also recorded 4.5 tackles per game to rank among his position's leaders in tackles per game.

Monroe is the only PFL defensive back on the list.

Campbell finished 2011 at 6-5 overall and 5-3 in Pioneer Football League play, marking the program's highest win total sine restarting the program in 2008. The Camels led the PFL in rushing for the third straight year (210.45 yards per game), placing 11 on all-conference teams.

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

As the 2012 season approaches, College Football Performance Awards will be releasing a preseason watch list each week from now until preseason. For more information on the College Football Performance Awards, click here

2012 CFPA Defensive Back Watch List
• Saeed Lee, Alabama State
• Kejuan Riley, Alabama State
• Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State
• Ryan Shaw, Arkansas Pine-Bluff
• A.J. Cruz, Brown
• Steth Monroe, Campbell
• Jestin Love, Central Arkansas
• Charles James, Charleston Southern
• D.J. Key, Chattanooga
• Mike Armiento, Colgate
• Travis Hawkins, Delaware
• Serge Kona, Duquesne
• Devontae Johnson, Florida A&M
• Jeremy Moore, Georgetown
• Donovan Henley, Idaho State
• Pierre Warren, Jacksonville State
• Darius Safford, Lafayette
• Bryan Andrews, Lehigh
• Walt Aikens, Liberty
• Kevin Fogg, Liberty
• Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State
• Pat Gray, Monmouth
• Kenneth Ridley, Morgan State
• Chris Houston, New Hampshire
• Colten Heagle, North Dakota State
• Marcus Williams, North Dakota State
• Garrett Scott, Nothern Iowa
• Jamaal White, Northwestern State
• Eriq Lewis, Old Dominion
• Alvin Hines II, Samford
• Dax Swanson, Sam Houston State
• Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State
• Darius Drummond, South Carolina State
• Winston Wright, South Dakota State
• Tylor Brock, Southeast Missouri
• Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana
• Davonte Anderson, Stony Brook
• Torian Phillips, Wagner
• Kieron James, Western Illinois
• B.W. Webb, William & Mary