Thompson named NCBWA Preseason All-America

Ryan Thompson (photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Ryan Thompson (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

NCBWA | @GoCamelsBSB |

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell senior Ryan Thompson has been named a Third Team selection to the 14th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association preseason All-America squad.

Thompson, the Big South's 2013 Pitcher of the Year and national ERA leader, was named Louisville Slugger/Collegiate Baseball Second Team and American Baseball Coaches Association Third Team All-American as a junior.

The Turner, Ore. native also finished runner-up for's Gregg Olson National Breakout Player of the Year Award and collected First Team All-Big South, Big South All-Tournament and NCCSIA First Team All-State accolades. The righty submariner was also added to the NCBWA Midseason Stopper of the Year Watch List.

He totaled a 9-1 record with a 0.88 ERA in 71.2 innings over 31 appearances, striking out 57 with 15 walks, surrendering only seven earned runs and six extra base hits while owning a streak of 29 1/3 innings without a run allowed from April 5 until May 18.

Thompson posted the lowest ERA in Campbell and Big South history leading the nation in the category, while tying the CU single-season saves record wins by a righthander marks. He helped Campbell set a team program and Big South record with a 2.63 ERA.

Thompson is one of six Campbell All-Americas over the last two seasons, along with Michael Felton (2012), Brent Graham (2013), Ben McQuown (2013), David Olson (Academic-2013) and Josh Holskey (Academic-2012).

Campbell has won 90 games over the last two seasons, including a school record 49 in 2013.

The Camels finished 2013 with a school record 49 wins, claiming the Big South's Regular Season Championship and ending the year runner-up in the league tournament. The team was ranked No. 28 by Collegiate Baseball in the publication's final poll.

The Camels, led by 2013 Big South Coach of the Year Greg Goff, return 16 letterwinners from last season's record-setting team, including All-Big South performers Ryan Thompson, Elijah Trail, Heath Bowers and Clayton Brown. CU also welcomes 17 newcomers to the fold.