CU Athletics announces 2014 CAMMYS nominees

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell University athletics will present the third annual CAMMYS this Saturday, April 26 at 7 p.m. inside the John W. Pope Jr. Convocation Center. The event is led by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which consists of male and female student-athletes from CU’s 21 NCAA Division I intercollegiate athletics programs.

The evening will showcase the best in Camel athletics over the last calendar year and will be hosted by the “Voice of the Fighting Camels,” Chris Hemeyer.

The following is a complete list of all the CAMMY categories and nominees.

Mr. Campbell
Fernando Guillen – Tennis
Kurt Odom – Football
Michael Rudisill – Football
Chris Cleare – Track and Field

Miss Campbell
Casey Elliott – Women’s Basketball
Hannah McClellan – Cheerleading
Kaitlyn Burnette – Swimming
Shaela Churchill – Softball
Kaylin Yost – Golf

Outstanding Male Athlete
Chris Cleare – Track and Field
Eloheim Palma – Wrestling
Fernando Guillen – Tennis
Ryan Thompson – Baseball
Travis Golden – Soccer

Outstanding Female Athlete
Karolina Chernaya – Tennis
Kaylin Yost – Golf
Kiera Gaines – Women’s Basketball
Kylie Warne – Swimming

Male Rookie of the Year
Amon Teror – Track and Field
Deshawn Jones – Football
Keith Goss – Football
Kyre Hamer – Basektball
Tunji Osefeso – Soccer

Female Rookie of the Year
Anna Scott – Track and Field
Courtney Klingler – Softball
Loren Day – Lacrosse
Louise Latorre – Golf

Unsung Hero Award
Cheriesse Campbell – Swimming
Erica Hitch – Lacrosse
Raechaun Edwards – Women’s Basketball
Stanley Hicks – Track and Field
Brent Jorge – Wrestling

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Brian Hudson – Football
Mary Crema – Volleyball
Roslyn Presley – Women’s Basketball
Heath Bowers – Baseball
Raven Lee – Softball

Most Outstanding Team of the Year
Women’s Golf
Men’s Track and Field

Play of the Year
Justin Franz – Men’s Soccer
Courtney Klingler – Softball
Jonathan Rogers – Football
Lauren Frick – Lacrosse
Reco McCarter – Men’s Basketball
Quinton Ray – Men’s Basketball
Ryan Thompson – Baseball

Individual Performance of the Year
Chris Cleare – Track and Field
Courtney Roberts – Softball
Kiera Gaines – Women’s Basketball
Kylie Warne – Swimming
Amon Teror – Track and Field
Louise Latorre – Women’s Golf

Team Performance of the Year
Men’s and Women’s Track and Field
Women’s Basketball
Women’s Golf

Head Coach of the Year
John Crooks – Women’s Golf
Greg Goff – Baseball
Drew Peterson – Softball
Michael Kelly – Track and Field
Pascal Molinard – Swimming
Wanda Watkins – Women’s Basketball

Assistant Coach of the Year
Quinton Godley – Wrestling
Brittany Lee/ Todd Brantley – Softball
O’Neil Wright – Track and Field

Support Staff of the Year
Betsy Williams – Academic Support
Justin Wilkins – Compliance
Shintaro Tahara – Strength and Conditioning
Shannon Murphy – Athletic Training