CU Athletics wraps 2014 CAMMYS

CU Athletics wraps 2014 CAMMYS

PHOTOS (by Will Bratton)

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell University athletics recognized both the athletic and academic achievements of its student-athletes at the third annual CAMMYS Saturday night at the John W. Pope Jr. Convocation Center.

The 2014 CAMMYS kicked off with a recognition of all senior student-athletes, followed by welcoming remarks from Director of Athletics Bob Roller.

The event was led by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which consists of male and female student-athletes from CU’s 21 NCAA Division I intercollegiate athletics programs.

The evening showcased the best in Camel athletics over the last calendar year and was hosted by the “Voice of the Fighting Camels,” Chris Hemeyer.

Track & field and women’s golf led all teams with three awards each.

Senior Michael Rudisill (Football) was named Mr. Campbell, while women’s golfer Kaylin Yost was honored as Miss Campbell, the highlight awards of the night.

2013 All-American Ryan Thompson from the baseball team and multiple all-conference selection Kaylin Yost from women’s golf took home Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors.

The record-setting 2013 baseball team was named the Most Outstanding Team, and the Women’s Cross Country team took home the Team GPA Award with a 3.55.

Men’s tennis player Dominik Kaniewski was given the Amanda Littlejohn Award.

There was a tie for Head Coach of the Year, with Women’s Basketball head coach Wanda Watkins and Baseball head coach Greg Goff sharing honors.

O’Neil Wright from Track & Field was named the Assistant Coach of the Year.

Male Rookie of the Year went to Amon Terer from Track & Field.

Female Rookie of the Year featured another tie, with Courtney Klingler (Softball) and Anna Scott (Track & Field).

Cheriesse Campbell from swimming was named the Unsung Hero.

Breakthrough Athlete and Play of the Year went to Roslyn Presley (Women’s Basketball) and Reco McCarter (Men’s Basketball), respectively.

Individual Performance of the Year went to Louise Latorre of Women’s Golf, and Team Performance of the Year went to Women’s Golf.

Fan of the Year went to Mark Williams.

Assistant strength and conditioning coach Shintaro Taharo was the Support Staff Award winner.

View a complete list of honorees below.

2014 CAMMYS Awards Winners:

Mr. Campbell: Michael Rudisill (Football)

Miss Campbell: Kaylin Yost (Women’s Golf)

Most Outstanding Team: Baseball

Male Athlete of the Year: Ryan Thompson (Baseball)

Female Athlete of the Year: Kylie Warne (Swimming)

Support Staff of the Year: Shintara Tahara

Amanda Littlejohn Award: Dominik Kaniewski (Men’s Tennis)

Head Coach of the Year: Wanda Watkins (Women’s Basketball) & Greg Goff (Baseball)

Assistant Coach of the Year: O’Neil Wright (Track & Field)

Highest Team GPA: Women’s Cross Country – 3.55

Female Iron Camel: Roslyn Presley (Women’s Basketball)

Male Iron Camel: Elijah Trail (Baseball)

Team Performance of the Year: Women’s Golf

Individual Performance of the Year: Louise Latorre (Women’s Golf)

Play of the Year: Reco McCarter (Men’s Basketball)

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Roslyn Presley (Women’s Basketball)

Fan of the Year: Mark Williams

Unsung Hero: Cheriesse Campbell (Swimming)

Male Rookie of the Year: Amon Terer (Men’s Track & FIeld)

Female Rookie of the Year: Courtney Klingler (Softball) & Anna Scott (Women’s Track & Field)