Women’s Golf, Soccer Win Big at Inaugural CAMMYS

The Inaugural CAMMYS
The Inaugural CAMMYS

2012 Year in Review Video

BUIES CREEK, N.C.-Campbell University athletics recognized both the athletic and academic achievements of its student-athletes at the inaugural CAMMYS tonight at the John W. Pope Jr. Convocation Center. 

The CAMMYS kicked off with a special senior recognition, followed by welcoming remarks from Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President and senior volleyball player Lauren Garza, as well as Director of Athletics, Bob Roller prior to the ceremony.

The event was led by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which consists of male and female student-athletes from CU’s 20 NCAA Division I intercollegiate athletics programs.

The evening showcased the best in Camel athletics over the last calendar year and was hosted by the “Voice of the Fighting Camels” Chris Hemeyer.

Women’s golf and women’s soccer were the big winners Tuesday night at the inaugural CAMMYS, with the teams combining for four awards.

Sophomore golfer Kaylin Yost was named Female Athlete of the Year, while her head coach, John Crooks, was named Coach of the Year. Women’s soccer, meanwhile, was named Team of the Year, and freshman Ashley Clark garnered Female Rookie of the Year honors.

Senior Vaita Guillaume of men’s golf was tabbed Male Athlete of the Year, while Trey Freeman of men’s basketball took home the Male Rookie of the Year award.

The feature awards of the night were Mr. and Miss Campbell, who were given to Jordan Cramer from football, and Libby Sanderson from swimming.

Eric Griffin’s now famous dunk against North Carolina A&T was named Play of the Year, while freshman swimmer Chelsea Lawson was handed the Greatest Fan award.

The Amanda Littlejohn Award was given to former teammate Taylor McGee of softball, with Men’s and Women’s Team GPA awards going to women’s cross country and men’s golf.

The Unsung Hero Award was presented to senior Austin Tart of football, and Katelyn Bass, a senior from the women’s basketball team, was honored as the Breakthrough Athlete of the Year.

The Support Staff Award went to host Chris Hemeyer, while football’s Oscar Olejniczak and tennis’ German Perez were tabbed Assistant Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year, respectively.

View a complete list of the winners below.

Male and Female Rookie of the Year
This award goes to a freshman athlete who made an immediate impact on his or her team, as demonstrated by teammates’ testimonies and/or outstanding achievements and awards. 

Male ROY winner - Trey Freeman (men’s basketball)
Female ROY winner - Ashley Clark (women’s soccer)  

The Unsung Hero Award
This award goes to an athlete who had a significant impact on his or her team and played a vital role in his or her team’s success while still being the “unsung hero”. 

Winner - Austin Tart (football)

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
This athlete, male or female, emerged as a key contributor to his or her team as a transfer or first-year starter. 

Winner - Katelyn Bass (women’s basketball)

Support Staff Award
This award goes to the person who contributes their time, energy, and compassion behind the scenes and works incredibly hard for the athletes at Campbell to compete at their best. Personnel to be considered for this award include athletic trainers and other athletic department staff. 

Winner - Chris Hemeyer (media/marketing)

Assistant Coach of the Year
This award goes to the assistant coach who has made a noteworthy difference in the lives of the athletes with whom he or she works. This assistant coach contributed to the overall success and athletic development of the individuals and team as a whole in his or her sport. 

Winner (Men’s Team) - Oscar Olejniczak (football)
Winner (Women’s Team) - German Perez (tennis) 

The Greatest Fan Award
This award goes to the athlete who has shown his or her passion for the Fighting Camels throughout the year as determined by attendance at Athletes for Athletes games. 

Winner - Chelsea Lawson (swimming)

The Amanda Littlejohn Award
Amanda was an inspiring athlete who not only battled on the field alongside her teammates but faced a personal battle at home with a life threatening disease.  This award goes to an athlete who faced considerable adversity this year and, despite facing these obstacles in various arenas, showed courage, composure, and focus on his or her goals making this person an inspiration to others. 

Winner - Taylor McGee (softball)

Men’s and Women’s Team GPA Award
This award goes to the men’s and women’s team with the highest overall GPA for the spring and fall 2011 semesters. 

Women’s winner - Cross Country
Men’s winner - Golf 

Play of the Year
This award goes to the athlete or group of athletes who took part in the most incredible athletic event to occur during competition this year. Criteria to be considered include the demonstration of athletic prowess, the impact of the play on the game’s outcome, or the sheer awesomeness of the play.

Winner - Eric Griffin’s dunk against North Carolina A&T (men’s basketball)

Coach of the Year
This award goes to the head coach who led the team with the best results, most significant impact on the school, and greatest level of community service involvement. This coach developed and guided athletes in such a way that encouraged them to compete at their best. 

Winner - John Crooks (golf)

Outstanding Male and Female Athlete
This award goes to the best male and female athlete who had an outstanding season and achieved significant athletic milestones. 

Male OA winner - Vaita Guillaume (men’s golf)
Female OA winner - Kaylin Yost (women’s golf) 

Most Outstanding Team
This award goes to the team that displayed a combination of the best statistics, results, and achievements this year. 

Winner - Women’s Soccer

Mr. and Miss Campbell
This award goes to a senior athlete who has an overall GPA of 3.00 or higher and has displayed leadership roles both on and off the playing field. This person is both an advocate and a role model for his or her team. 

Mr. Campbell winner - Jordan Cramer (football)
Miss Campbell winner - Libby Sanderson (swimming)